Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

How long is a bar?

What's Hot
RockerRocker Frets: 4980
 I have a working knowledge of how chords are made up and notes in scales but have no idea of what 3/4 or 4/4 time actually means.  I have no knowledge of how long a bar lasts in music.  I have read up on this but somehow I fail to understand what has been written.  

I can play waltz time, 3/4, without thinking but what does the 3 part mean and ditto the 4.  I presume that 4/4 time means playing a max total of 4 notes or rests or a combination per bar.  It all gets back to how long a bar lasts.

Trying to plug gaps in my lack of music theory.  A major problem is not knowing exactly what I am looking for and what question(s) to ask.

Any help or or guidance will be very appreciated. Thanks.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• John_AJohn_A Frets: 3775
    edited November 2020
    4/4 means 4 crotchets in a bar, so a typical song in 4/4 would be counted in as "1 2 3 4", and that is a bar in 4/4/ time
    3/4 means 3 crotchets in a bar, so a typical song in 3/4 would be counted in as "1 2 3 ", and that is a bar in 3/4 time

"I presume that 4/4 time means playing a max total of 4 notes or rests or a combination per bar.  It all gets back to how long a bar lasts."

Exactly
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24265
    First in a 3 book series

https://www.basslinepublishing.com/product/the-bass-guitarists-guide-to-reading-music-beginner-level/

They are well written and easy to follow.

Well worth £10 of your hard earned.
  • mrkbmrkb Frets: 6794