Overused and abused words

What's Hot

Comments

• I use a lot of these as verbal ticks ( to be fair, basically,etc) and they do make their way into what I write so I wouldn’t usually criticise anyone else. The only one that actually annoys me is ‘guys’ or variations thereof such as hey guys or hey guy. Always sounds like a sad hipster dad who his pretending that he is best friends with his children whereas they think he is an idiot. When people use it on here it seems ostensibly friendly yet hugely insincere and that you are too important to have to take the time to use anyone’s name. 

When I was a manager I certainly fell into management speak. I would use ‘with my...hat on’ multiple times per day. So, with my performance hat on, with my risk management hat on, with my health and safety hat on,etc, often multiple hats within the same elongated sentence like Gus from Drop the Dead Donkey. It became like an outer body experience watching myself say this stuff wishing I’d shut up or at least make a decision. 

Nigella Lawson “loving” everything she prepares and cooks, and then giving that overused sideways, supposedly saucy, glance when she eats it.  

People on cookery programmes probably shouldn’t be allowed to speak. I love the ones on Masterchef who say ‘ I’m here because I love food’ and I just shout at the TV ‘ no you’re fat because you love food.’  Monica on Masterchef used to say element every two minutes ( every element of this dish, he’s really thought about every element, that’s a lovely element..) which in her accent sounded like ailament. I think someone had a word with her and she stopped saying it so I’ve stopped watching Masterchef. 
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • boogiemanboogieman Frets: 12361

However, this concerns me:
    boogieman said: