Total newbie - which amp if I buy a Boss me-80 multifx?

What's Hot
UngulateUngulate Frets: 222
As it says above, looking at a Boss ME-80 to access loads of fx cheaply. What kind of practice amp would you guys recommend?

Was looking at Yamaha THR but this seems unnecessary as the Boss would handle fx and all the modelling stuff on the Yamaha would be duplicating things?

Got maybe £300 to use on the amp, help me guys? Just getting into rock/indie on electric guitar after a few years of acoustic.....or maybe no Boss at all, start collecting pedals? Looks a bit daunting.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Maybe consider a Boss Katana 100 which is then compatible with the GAFC foot switch. Total outlay <£400. More than enough effects for indie/rock built in to the amp so might not need the ME80. You can also add an expression pedal. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72321
    I’d get the ME-80 - you get far more for your money than with individual pedals, and zero hassle with cabling and power supplies etc.

For an amp, I think you’re right to avoid a modelling amp as it duplicates some of that unnecessarily - I would go for a good quality, simple analogue amp, probably solid state since most valve amps in that price range are a bit on the small and boxy-sounding side, which is not what you need for a multi-FX really - but I wouldn’t rule it out, there are some reasonable ones in the 5W range. Hard to recommend a specific one without knowing how big, loud etc you need, or what basic type of sounds you like - there’s quite a big difference between (eg) Fender and Orange sounds.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein