Going unplugged but I've never had a decent accoustic - suggestions..?

What's Hot
NeillNeill Frets: 941
Ok guys, this is the gist, I'm not a beginner, I'm not wonderful either, but I'm competent enough to hold my own in a band and I've even done an odd gig just me and a singer, but mostly electric.  In fact I've never owned a decent accoustic, I've always borrowed one whenever needed. 

Anyway, I'm retired now so I do have quite a lot of spare time and I think it's about time I improved my unplugged playing.  I keep putting this off but I am losing patience waiting for Covid to sod off and let me visit a guitar shop.  So, does anyone have some suggestions for a decent accoustic, or even just a brand, that would be a safe bet?  

I know what you're all thinking, how much money has he got... but TBH I'd rather turn that question round and ask how much would you expect to pay these days bearing in mind that I do know my way around a fretboard and I think I have a good ear for tone. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26943
    I would always suggest a Martin D18 or D28 as a starting point, then see what you don't like about it and go from there
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
  • LebarqueLebarque Frets: 3835
    The best Martin you can afford.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • Would you have been happy with any of the acoustics you've borrowed? If so, what were they? Might be a good place to start.... 
  • VimFuegoVimFuego Frets: 15485
    yeah, can't go wrong with an 18/28 martin. re how much to spend, I'm not up on new prices anymore, but as a ballpark, £1500 to £2000 will get you something really nice. That's not to say you can't get really nice for less, you can, but at that price point, you'd have to put a lot of effort in to buy a duff 'un. 

I'm not locked in here with you, you are locked in here with me.