I will never be any good at guitar ....

What's Hot

Comments

• menamestommenamestom Frets: 4701

Personally my main priority for the guitar is creating something of my own.  I’ve never obsessed about nailing any song, I’d perhaps work on a song for a bit and let a few ideas sink in but the thought of note for note copying somebody doesn’t fill me excitement.

I suppose we all want something different out if the instrument but perhaps trying to nail a virtuosos’s instrumental isn’t the best use of your time?  
    Perhaps a challenge is good but if it isn’t working try something else.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • phil_bphil_b Frets: 2010
    i am a beginner and also have problems remembering songs.

but maybe that is because I only play for myself. there is not the pressure of not making mistakes or learning songs. Maybe not being in a band is the reason you dont remember songs rather than a lack of function
  • GuyBodenGuyBoden Frets: 744
    edited January 2021
    axisus said:
    or any other instrument. It's a sad realisation. 

OK, some people think I am amazing at guitar/piano, but the fact is that I am missing some fundamental skills:

1) poor motor skills in terms of accuracy
    2) poor memory recall

I looked at the detail in iTunes, and there is an instrumental song that I have been trying to play for years and years. The play count for the backing track is almost 2000 times, and yet I am still nowhere near getting the short widdly bit right (it's probably 6 seconds tops!). I will never have accuracy, it isn't in my mind and fingers unfortunately. 

And remembering stuff. At the start of lockdown one I decided to do a simple arrangement for a piece of piano music that is less than 3 minutes long. I got it all worked out in a couple of weeks, it's just chords with some melody thrown in. 10 months on and I still can't play it through without forgetting something. It is BLOODY frustrating!