Drum micing / mixing

What's Hot
Just thought this might be of interest to some, but who knows! 

Wanted to mess around with drum recording and mixing, mainly to see what I can achieve using a stock mixing template. 

I've learnt that my current template is a bit over zealous on some of the compression and eq, and that I need to refine it. 

For reference; 7 mics in place are kick, tom x3, snare and two overheads. 

3 audio passes, 1st from my phone which is a Galaxy Note plus, about 4 feet away at face height. 2nd is the unprocessed sound from the mics, and finally the results after applying the template I made. 

My Trading Feedback    |    You Bring The Band

Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ...and yes, I realise I'm not a proper drummer! You don't need to point that out! 

• StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2412
    I hate to be that person, but the unprocessed drums sound way better than the processed ones. You've got far too much EQ going on there.
  • Stuckfast said:
    I hate to be that person, but the unprocessed drums sound way better than the processed ones. You've got far too much EQ going on there.
    Yes I know. The biggest problem I have is a shit, over resonant kick drum, even with damping. Trying to eq / gate that out is my problem.  

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8491
    Context is everything - that processed sound is quite... processed. But without context, it's not really possible to tell if it's good processing or not. Other than it sounds like a lot of the mids/ tone has been sucked out, which is something I've been very guilty of before.
  • Of course, it's worth remembering that in a full mix there's plenty of things occupying the frequencies that are EDd out, and you want to leave room for them while having the drums pop out