Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Daft assumptions you've had for years about guitars/bass/gear ?

What's Hot

Comments

• bassborabassbora Frets: 132
    When I started playing bass in the early '90s I didn't know anyone else who was playing and information was not so readily available.  I knew how to tune up and started playing along to records and everything was going great.  Then the strangest thing would happen.  Some bands had an extra note the played and I could not for the life of me figure out what was happening (Guns n Roses, Alice in Chains etc).  I guess you have figured it out?  I tried different strings (if I remember correctly I thought possibly heavier gauge would get me there) but nothing worked.

I had the epiphany in the paper shop. I discovered all the tabs in guitar mags and would stand there and try to memorise the songs so I would not have to buy the mag.  In one of them it stated the tuning before the song and they had all the flat sign before the note.  I had studied piano as a kid so I knew the musical symbols.  So I ran home and tuned the bass down half a step.  And bingo I was playing it correctly.  That was one big moment for me.  I had no one to ask and there was no Internet and it never occurred to me you could tune differently than in E.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SnagsSnags Frets: 5369
    Didn't take long to learn the error of this one,  but early on I thought that if you knew the chords to a song (in the "little boxes" format over a notation melody or simple piano arrangement) you'd be able to play it, straight off.

I had no real concept of riffs, inversions, positions etc.