Prs SE A50E. Opinions

StevepageStevepage Frets: 3047
I’m very tempted to buy my first acoustic guitar. I’ve dabble with acoustics in the past but never committed to acoustic as I’ve been playing electric for 20+ years. 

Now, I’m thinking I need a different challenge.

the A50E has caught my attention. Solid woods and Prs SE quality seems like a very good deal. The Blue Matteo finish really caught my eye.

But what’s the opinion on them? Very good for the price? Anything else to consider in that price range?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TheMadMickTheMadMick Frets: 240
    I looked at that range and came to the opinion that the A40 was better for my purposes. I wasn't disappointed but it is still "opening up". The most striking aspect is how slick the neck is. I really like to play it although the fretwork around the 14 - 16th fret is a bit high and it chokes up. Will have that seen to once lockdown is over.

Be aware that the sides and back are laminated if I read the blurb correctly. Mine is none the worse for that.

I assume you are looking at the GuitarGuitar offer on the A50. I'd give that a go if I was looking. But be aware that even with the laminated back and sides the tonality is likely to be on the bright side of neutral. You may be able to change that with a different string choice.
  • StevepageStevepage Frets: 3047
    Ok thank you. I’ve just ordered it and it should be with me tomorrow. Looking forward to it 
    Arrived today and I’m seriously impressed. It’s a lot of guitar for the money. Looking forward to learning some Celtic tunes 
    Just wait until it opens up.

By the by, the plugged in sound and the unplugged sound are quite different if mine is anything to go by. Not a problem provided you're expecting it.