Gilmour...

What's Hot

Comments

• wellsyboywellsyboy Frets: 453
    I am certain that if I got to watch him work or sit and watch him write etc I would be mesmerised but Pink FLoyd have never done it for me - no matter how hard I try I can’t bear listening to them. I tried agin recently and it didn’t work out. Hey Ho - its basically subjective - as a guitarist I admire his invention and touch but..............
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • proggyproggy Frets: 5835
    edited April 2021
    He is a genius. Just one bend of one note and you know straight away it's him.
    Despite Waters' lyrical skills, Floyd albums wouldn't be as great without the Gilmour sound.

Careful with that axe you genius....
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • wellsyboywellsyboy Frets: 453
    edited April 2021
    Gassage said:
    Stuckfast said:
    The Madcap Laughs is a work of pure genius. Personally I find everything Floyd did after Echoes crashingly dull.

I don't really understand why you'd venerate Gilmour as a guitarist when there were much better players in other 70s prog bands -- Fripp, Howe etc.

Because music is measure subjectively, not objectively.

The only way you can measure objectively is by how many albums sold and how many guitarists he inspired to play/influenced or play his licks, and on both of those measurements, he's miles ahead of Fripp and Howe.
    I agree about the subjective comment but how do you measure genius? I understand the definition of genius but who decides? And then you come back to subjectivity to a certain extent.
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4180
    I’ll just leave this here, a few notes and you know who it is

https://youtu.be/Q85rVFZ9zaI
  • GassageGassage Frets: 30880
    wellsyboy said:
    Gassage said:
    Stuckfast said:
    The Madcap Laughs is a work of pure genius. Personally I find everything Floyd did after Echoes crashingly dull.