Vintage guitar valuations

What's Hot
WarblingtonWarblington Frets: 109
I have a guitar that I'd like appraised in terms of value.I know something is only worth what somebody is prepared to pay for it but there must be someone reliable out there or some form of reference for valuations. Any ideas would be welcome and thank you in advance.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JD50JD50 Frets: 650
    Just check reverb and eBay sold items... you must have an idea of what your guitar is worth?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • WarblingtonWarblington Frets: 109
    It's a one off so I'm not sure there is a comparable sale.I know what I'd like it to be worth but i've had it over a decade and I'm not an expert in the vintage market.That's why I'd like pointing in the right direction, an independent valuer that is trusted and is au fait with the current market.
  • clarkefanclarkefan Frets: 808
    When I once owned a valuable vintage guitar I had it appraised by a well known vintage guitar dealer for insurance purposes.
  • fretfinderfretfinder Frets: 4978
    Mike at ATB could value it for you. Or there’s lots of knowledgeable people on here who’ll have just as good an idea, if you’re prepared to say what the guitar is. 
    250+ positive trading feedbacks: http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/57830/
    clarkefan said:
    When I once owned a valuable vintage guitar I had it appraised by a well known vintage guitar dealer for insurance purposes.
    A few years ago I spoke to dealers at a guitar show about another guitar I had. Their valuations varied by about 30% so I wasn't sure about that approach.I could give it a whirl though.
  • MikeCMikeC Frets: 447
    And there is the vintage guitar price guide. It's in USD but add on shipping and tax you might as well assume its in GBP.