Artificial Harmonics

What's Hot
All the years I've been playing, I have never tried this before.

I take it that's what is happening here.

Are there any guitar teachers on here ? I would like a few lessons

Instagram is Rocknrollismyescape -

FOR SALE - Catalinbread Echorec, Sonic Blue classic player strat and a Digitech bad monkey

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Ah maybe I got it wrong ? Can anyone explain how to get this sound

FOR SALE - Catalinbread Echorec, Sonic Blue classic player strat and a Digitech bad monkey

• mrkbmrkb Frets: 6637
    I think they are artificial harmonics, but that’s not the way I’ve created them in the past. Looks like he’s using the index finger of his right hand to create the node point (which is a ratio of the free string length so changes with fretting position) which sets the note pitch and using his right hand thumb to pluck the string. The index finger is very lightly touching the string, the gets removed as you pluck.
    Karma......
    Ebay mark7777_1
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26753
    edited June 2021
    They're natural harmonics, they're just not in the usual places because he's fingering chords with the left hand, which moves the harmonic up the strings. So if you finger a regular open E major, the octave harmonics would be at 12-14-14-13-12-12 - you can do the same with any note on the fretboard. 

So instead of touching the string at e.g. the 12th fret with the left hand and picking with the right, you'd finger a chord, starting simple say x332xx for a F major triad (as he does right at the beginning, in the bottom left corner)

Where it gets more tricky is your left hand is already in use, so with the right hand, you have to touch each string with the first finger at the harmonic point, and pick with the thumb just behind. For that same F that means touching above the 15th on the A, 15th on the D and 14th on the G strings. 

Does that make sense?