Help dating a Gibson acoustic

What's Hot
DiscoStuDiscoStu Frets: 5382
I was speaking to an old guy in at least his 70s yesterday, who showed me this Gibson J-50 Deluxe.
He told me he bought it used when he was still at school which suggests to me that it's probably a '56 going by the serial and his age.
However, doesn't the style of label inside indicate a 70s model, which wipes out his story? I'm no expert.

https://i.imgur.com/LJLjWrc.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/iGpHBap.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/oNhY4EJ.jpg

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Andy79Andy79 Frets: 888
    edited July 2021
    That’s definitely a Norlin era guitar 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • CleckoClecko Frets: 295
    Just be yourself, have some fun, see what you have in common. Treat it no differently to a Taylor, Martin etc. If you've had a nice time, ask if they'd like to do it again some time and hopefully you'll go on to make beautiful music together. 
    5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • moremore Frets: 230
    I'm no expert on Gibsons. But I think most J 50's had have a rounded shoulder. It was made with a square shoulder in the late sixties. The older Gibsons had a nicer cellulose, cut out, pickguard. The early Gibsons had only 19 frets, not sure when the  20th was added. The inside looks really clean with a spot of glue that doesn't look old.?
  • DiscoStuDiscoStu Frets: 5382
    Clecko said:
    Just be yourself, have some fun, see what you have in common. Treat it no differently to a Taylor, Martin etc. If you've had a nice time, ask if they'd like to do it again some time and hopefully you'll go on to make beautiful music together. 
    But when it all begins with them lying about their age, it's time to swipe left.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ronnybronnyb Frets: 1742