New Sports At The Olympics

What's Hot

Comments

• sinbaadisinbaadi Frets: 1302
    Can't wait for climbing. It is a really exciting sport that is highly skillful. Perfect Olympic fodder.

Tennis, Football, Baseball, Golf etc should be nowhere near the Olympics.
    Absolutely agree on climbing.

I've been bouldering and lead climbing for a few years and really got in to going to watch comps, some of which we've participated in, a bit like doing the "fun run" part of the qualifying round, really.

We've been looking forward to seeing Shauna at the Olympics for what feels like ages, she's the GB climbing figurehead for sure. 

If anyone really wants to see what being on another level looks like though, at least in Bouldering, check out Janja Garnbret.

The format has already been changed for Paris games, which makes sense.  Speed is such a different discipline that it shouldn't be lumped in with Lead and Bouldering.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GrumpyrockerGrumpyrocker Frets: 4135
    I have a very clear, if largely disliked, view that anything involving non interactive turn taking is not a sport - darts, high jump, long jump, shot put, etc. These are forms of exercise or pastimes. 
    I also dislike anything that is essentially rich people's hobbies so that includes anything involving a yacht, horses and most winter sports ( probably all winter sports but I haven't gone through a list). 
    Squash is fine but to make it more authentic the scores should be cross tabulated with that month's new car sales. Surfing needs to be in shark infested waters otherwise who cares. 
    The number of types of cycling races need to be reduced, there's just too much of it, and no velodromes only canal paths with the odd surprise Staffie cross jumping out the bushes. All cyclists must be able to demonstrate that they can change a tyre using two old desert spoons to qualify.