What to look for in a tutor

What's Hot
I’ve been in a rut for a while, I’m an ok amateur player. The odd basic solo. Solid rhythm chops. Can play in a band happily. 

I’m feeling the need for something to drive me a bit. Would lessons help and if they would then what am I looking for? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• moremore Frets: 230
    edited August 2021
    Have a look at justinguitar .  If you start at the beginning  and work your  way through, it is a  comprehensive course  . You can take on board and practise new stuff , at your own speed .   The problem with most one to one  tutors is they want you to have regular lessons . It is hard to learn fast, so your paying to   go over the same  things . It is better  to  find a tutor  that is willing to go over things you already know,  and is willing  to see you once a month or so.  The  combination of the mix of online and one to one can work well . 
  • I do regular weekly lessons and I find the routine helps them remember stuff better. Also with anything less it encourages them to practice less and this doesn't justify a monthly lesson. By then they've forgotten everything and probably won't have practiced much. At least with weekly they're coming in and playing with me for an hour and correcting any bad habits/mistakes. Of course this is for complete beginners who probably need the regular routine but I have a lot of people who can already play coming to me and its the same thing.
  • EvoEvo Frets: 307
    From a good tutor, lessons will always help.
    I can offer advice from both sides of the fence as well, as I am a tutor myself and also (as i'm sure many of us are) always looking to learn more myself. 

The tutor in me would suggest looking for somebody that doesn't just know how to play. A good theory knowledge and understanding of "why" is very important in explaining things and should add up to a better learning experience.