Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Should I just buy a JCM800?

What's Hot
mo6020mo6020 Frets: 366
edited October 2021 in Amps
Alright chaps - I’m on the verge of pulling the trigger on a JCM800 (the 20w version), but then it was suggested to me that I should check out a Victory Sheriff 22 as I’d be able to get the JCM thing and Hendrix sounds in the same head. 

I have very little experience with Victory Amps, so my question here is two fold:

a) any Sheriff owners want to comment on whether this is a reasonable ask from this head?

b) If I want to do the JCM thing I should just buy a JCM right?

Cheers in advance for any wisdom…
"Filthy appalachian goblin."
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17604
    tFB Trader
    You could also buy a DSL as the crunch channel is JCM 800 based.

Alternatively you can't go wrong with an 800.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • mo6020mo6020 Frets: 366
    I also asked this question on Reddit and in that thread over there I inadvertently answered my own question with “there really is no other amp that does what the JCM does as well as it”, but the premise of having cranked plexi and JCM in the same head is pretty compelling…
  • JonathangusJonathangus Frets: 4511
    edited October 2021
    I don't know whether this works with the SC20, but plugging ino the low input of a JMP 2204, cranking the master and using the input gain for volume puts you in plexi territory.

(From about 3:40.)

Trading feedback | How to embed images using Imgur

As for "when am I ready?"  You'll never be ready.  It works in reverse, you become ready by doing it.  - pmbomb

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom