DI box problems for a noob

As per title I have very little experience with this recording malarky. I only record for fun and to monitor my progress as a learning guitarist. So I have a H+K Tubemeister 18 head with the built in redbox DI, i've connected it to the XLR in on my interface(Behringer UMC22) even at reasonably low volume (1watt on built in attenuator) and about 3 on the clean channel I can get enough output to make it clip. Its all well and fine but it sounds a bit weak,washy maybe even thin. I've fiddled with EQ on the amp (it sounds fine out of the cab).
  I've also got a Joyo J01-01 DI box with cab sim, i've connected this in between the amp and and cab with everything the same as above and the tone is much better but the output to the interface is very very low ( so much so that the clipping light has never come on) I cant really increase the output from the amp as Its usually late at night. 
  Is the above because the joyo is inline between amp and cab and relies on greater volume to achieve sufficient output wherease the Redbox being built it is bypassing the cab output and achieving its volume differently? 
  I don't want to buy anything If I don't need to and I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible for my addled brain.
ta in advance for any advice
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Are you sending the Joyo XLR out (mic level) to the interface's XLR mic input?
    If you're going into a line input (TRS) the level will be too low.

• Looking at the Tubemeister 18 and the Behringer interface, one thought comes to mind.

The UMC22 has a combined XLR/TRS socket for the mic/line input but no way to switch between mic and line levels - I assume it defaults to mic level when using the XLR and line level when using the TRS (common on other equipment using these combined sockets).