Total Newbie. Finishing an ash body with tru oil?

What's Hot
Hi all. I am going to attempt this myself I think. I've seen various videos etc online on how to do it, but thought I'd ask the experts here as well. I have an unfinished ash bass body.

I'd like to finish it while keeping the natural look. I understand that tru oil is a good option here, and from the videos I have seen, it would seem to be manageable enough even for the likes of me. 

Take into account I can barely change a bridge or do intonation, that's how bad I am.

A few questions I had:

I would think it's stupid to e.g. finish the top, let it dry, do the sides, let them dry, do the back etc, as that would mean an uneven finish?
Would it be best to hang the body and apply all over to begin with?
Is it simply a case of applying evenly with (any) cloth, let it dry and reapply?
Sorry for the totally stupid questions, but I think it's something I should attempt finally! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• davrosdavros Frets: 1324
    I finished an ash body with tru oil. The way I did it was to rub it in with coffee filters or fingers, leave for a couple of minutes then carefully wipe off as much as you can with folded kitchen towel. You want to use lots of thin coats, if you bung it on and let it dry without wiping off, it will take a lifetime to dry.

After about 5 coats I knocked it back with 0000 wire wool and did anothe 5, finishing with wire wool.

Left a really nice finish.
    edited October 2021
    If you get some blocks to put in the pickup cavities, you can do the front and sides then flip it over onto the blocks and do the back. Might be difficult to wipe on/off with it hanging.
  • Creed_ClicksCreed_Clicks Frets: 1385
    edited October 2021
    @davros thanks for the tips. It's a 51 p bass body, so basic enough in design etc. It's the 0000 wool part I might find tricky, but assume it is handy enough? How many coats?
    edited October 2021