How do you see the fretboard when playing?

What's Hot
Probably one for our more experienced players here but all are welcome to chip in.

I've heard good players and professionals describe different ways of how they see the guitar fretboard when playing. Some say shapes,some say they simply see the notes or chords and I've even heard some use the term colours. As a rookie I just see learned shapes but still find myself not able to see a 'bigger picture.' Can anybody offer insight into this? Cheers.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4094
    I see shapes.  And also I can hear intervals in my mind and translate that through my fingers to the right shape move
  • TanninTannin Frets: 5429
    edited March 2022
    For me, it's not visual. I don't see it, I feel it - "feel" as in the kinesthetic sense, the sense you use to (e.g.) know when your arms are in front of you or by your side. It's all about what's under the finger and what I have to stretch for.  
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28337
    In terms of improv I see box shapes. I always have to start in the same box, which I think of as position 1. I only use one scale and some of my boxes have missing info! 
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16294
    I think basic shapes for me. If you said play a C major pentatonic around the neck I could do that and if you stopped me and said what’s that note my answer would be ‘erm, the fourth’ as I don’t have instant recall of note names in every position (unlikely to ever do so now!)but am okay at shapes/scales. 

Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • JMS96JMS96 Frets: 137
    I see cowboy chords all the way up the neck. C, G, A, E and D up all the frets.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Josh_CoskuJosh_Cosku Frets: 181