GSP RB6 Thinline build

What's Hot
And so it finally begins.... 

I'm butchering Graham's work here. Plan is to install a Staytrem bridge, AvRI Jag/Jazz Vibrato and a couple of Mojo Wide Range Jazzmaster pickups - all of which have been ordered and some of which have arrived.

Got a bit of routing to do once all the hardware lands, in the meantime I'm starting to look at the neck finish so I can decide what to do with the body. 

The wood is London Plane which I've never worked with before. I have it a light coat of yellow stain to see how the grain reacts. Actually, it hasn't really popped, but that's ok because it's so prominent maybe it need to be slightly subdued anyway. 

Have rubbed it back after stain (which it needed anyway) but left ala lot of the stain on the marked frets. Still thinking about this, but tempted to stain the rest of the frets red and rub back a bit. I'm thinking about a Fireglo type finish to the body...

I'm pretty sure I'm going to finish this with Nitro over the top of any stain I apply. I think the body will just be nitro finished, although I might stain the back, which is Ash, first then rub back. 

I've got some metal pickup surrounds being made which will cover the existing routing. Might get a scratch plate made, might not. 

0reaction image LOL 4reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6389
    Looks great ! B)
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FuengiFuengi Frets: 2850
    Went for it with the red. The flame seems to pop a little more, possibly the extra rubbing back? 

I can tone it down with sanding, staining and tinting nitro over to suit so will be fun to play around with it.

The grain of the Ash on the back is fabulous. Put some yellow stain on it to bring the grain through which has taken nicely. Will rub that back and see how it looks / feels before deciding how to proceed.