Valve Amp Weight Reduction – A Simple Idea from a Simple Man!

What's Hot
deanodeano Frets: 622

Okay, I am no expert and I assume that someone will be along soon to tell me my idea is unfeasible, dangerous, and/or pointless, or some combination thereof.

However I’ve noticed that there are many discussions over the weight of amps, and of course as soon as something changes to threaten the existence of valves (for example the quite brilliant Tonemaster range) in order to reduce weight (and cost, and reliability etc. etc.) then some people start jumping up and down. More so over on TGP for example, but even over here there are those who dislike the idea that valves may no longer be fit for purpose.

So I’ve used me noggin!

I understand – and again I have no clue of the innards of an amp – that the power and output transformers are responsible most of the weight in an amp.

Now, combos were split into heads and cabinets in order to make it easier to move amps around, so taking that idea one step further, would it be possible to split an amp, not just into two (head and cab), but into three, so the transformers are removed into their own cabinet, joined with a cable of some sort

Would it get rid of weight? No, of course not, but would it make moving the weight easier? Yes, I think it would. Just as with a combo, it is easier to move the head and the cab, I think it would be easier to move the cab, the head, and the transformer box

Of course it wouldn’t take any less energy, but as we get older it becomes  more accepted to make a couple of trips to move stuff around, rather than in one big lift like we used to do when we were in our twenties or thirties.

There is also the potential, like with cabs and speakers, to create a new market for combining the head from one company, with the transformers from another, going into the cabs from other companies, filled with  speakers from a multitude of other manufacturers.

The fan-boys on TGP would love that!