Identify / value amp

What's Hot
MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3654
I've received a WhatsApp from a friend and former colleague.  His neighbour passed away recently and he was asked by the widow to look at a couple of amps, my friend asked me for an opinion.  All that he could tell me is that they were old and very heavy.  He's going over tomorrow to have a closer look.  The first was a Teal Stripe Peavey Bandit but it's this one that could be interesting.  I'm no expert but I'm thinking '68 silver face re-issue?  What should my friend be looking out for  / taking pic of?

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72309
    No, that's an original 1968-1972 Pro Reverb.

The valve chart on the inside of the cabinet round the back may have a date code on it which could date it accurately, or if not then the transformer codes which are visible with good lighting, without taking it apart.

At this point I would take a good pic or two of the inside of the back, showing the speakers and upwards towards the transformers - that should identify anything major which looks non-original. After that it would be best to get a tech to check it over and advise on what may have been changed, or work needing done. DO NOT TURN IT ON TO SEE IF IT WORKS at this point - if it hasn't been used for years and the filter caps have dried out or leaked, damage may occur which can be avoided if it's checked over first.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 8reaction image Wisdom
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3654
    ICBM said:
    No, that's an original 1968-1972 Pro Reverb.