NGD: My Walmutt Trent Model 1

stevrossthepipestevrossthepipe Frets: 138
edited December 2023 in Guitar

Ok I have had my @TrentGuitars ;;;;;;;;;;;;for about 2 months now. Couple of rehearsals and a gig and lots of hours thrashing about on on it now. And as promised to Elliott I thought I would give a review of my new TRENT. I’m the walnut stained one off that instagram!! Stolen Elliots pictures as they are way beyond what I could achieve and I use to do it for a living. However I have access to some digital medium format  cameras at work so may experiment one day and post them. No word smith but here we go:

https://i.imgur.com/JHBeoWD.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/aLJlyPd.jpg

I haven’t had lots of guitars but had 6 or 7 over the years. I have owned some decent expensive  guitars. A  Gibson lespaul standard from 2006 when I was in college. It had a wonderful desert burst finish but the bridge was sooo sharp and broke so any strings and the nut was cut terribly. Lots of binding aesthetic mistakes even the bridge has a too big of a routed hole where it went into the body, super shoddy!  Never got on with it  and was a bit ‘fancy’ for my thrashing ways  and I  always thought I would knock off that head stock. Really disappointed and a good lesson in just because its expensive doesn’t mean it is going to be made well or be the guitar for you. Should have got that black SG I tried that day….sigh

A few other Fenders with dodgy nuts that need correcting and a few duff tuning pegs. Even my other current electric a Fender FSR USA guitar had frets that needed a good year of playing  before they stopped catching and there was a sharp fret. I didn’t pay that but they were £1800 new I think.  Also very buzzy in places in a slightly strange way that I later got sorted out by a tech.  

Why do I tell you these things? Well that’s where Trent came in. Been eyeing them up on here for a while and took the leap.