Carlsbro Amps

What's Hot
VaernimaVaernima Frets: 4
Herro there people. So I've been using Carlsbro VAC15 Classic amp for a few months now.
People always ask about it and kind of 'remember' Carlsbro from the past or seeing it around in places.

I always thought the brand was kind of solid state practise amps (which I've learned they do a lot of) products.
But this amp is all valve and it's really fun to use. Sounds lush.

Who's had experience with this brand? Old and new products. From looking at the website they've been around for donkeys.
What's your thoughts.
Discuss :)

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I remember they did a 500 watt 2x12+1x15 solid state metal stack.

Lololol I love the 90s.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • VaernimaVaernima Frets: 4
    Everyone's got a cool story about their old amps.
    I feel left out being with their new stuff. But it's ok.....still happy with the amp.

90's was ace. Yeah.

I don't quite know where to place these amps in time though. It seems they've been around and respected....but it's almost like they've never been marketed like Marshall or Vox in the UK. Dark horse.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16294
    Through a lot of the 70s and 80s it seemed like every bass amp and small PA was Carlsboro. They also had a small chain of instrument shops at one point. I think I'm right in saying the ownership has changed hands a few times and it is pretty much just a brand name now without a lot of link to the past. There have been reissues of their 60s valve amps but I'm sure there's a limited market for that kind of stuff. Distribution seems to have been through small, independent shops so they have a very low profile.
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom