The Fretboard Cycling Club

What's Hot

Comments

• NeillNeill Frets: 941
    I've been a bike rider for some 60 years now (yes, yes, I am quite tired..) I was an amateur racer, never much good in fact I was/am a bloody awful bike handler and I have a series of scars down my left side from falling off countless times.   It was an "off" that curtailed my guitar playing for a long time and my left hand still doesn't fully function but it's a great excuse for bum notes!

In my prime I was doing around 10,000 miles a year, and I was discussing the old days with a friend recently, we were both of the opinion that it wouldn't be possible to do that nowadays without incident.  First because of the increase in traffic, second because of the state of the roads.  We never used to wear helmets of course but I do now simply because there is a fair chance that at some point you will miss a pothole, rut etc.   I wish I could get into mountain biking but it's just not my thing.  It's such a shame the roads are so neglected as I notice there are far more cyclists about these days with many rediscovering the fun of riding a bike during the lockdown.  

I don't aspire to the latest gear any more, but I do marvel at the technology these days, especially in frame design and building.  There's so much choice and really lightweight gear is so affordable.  It's a bit like guitars really, the younger generation have no idea how lucky they are.

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • BrioBrio Frets: 1808
    Road bike plus 30C tyres for the win on modern roads. Lower pressure for comfort and tubeless for puncture protection. I’ve not had to walk home or change a tube for a couple of years. If not longer.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • LogieLogie Frets: 443
    edited February 2021
    @Jaycee ;;