Drum help please

What's Hot
I've only recently begun to do home recording and am basically using Logic and my Macbook Pro as my primary way to get things done. The purpose is recording demos and ideas for shared collaboration with geographically distant friends. 

I'm well sorted for all guitar/bass/vocal needs but need to figure out a simple home-recording drum setup that's not totally based on loops. A live kit is out of the question.

So, I've been looking at the Yamaha DD65 drumpad unit as an easy way to sort this. It's cheap, seems easy to use and should do all I need it to do (get tracks onto the laptop).

Anyone have any experience with this unit, or any other things I should be thinking about. I'm a noob when it comes to any serious recording and even more of a drum noob.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33793
    Seriously, unless you are prepared to spend a lot of money on a digital kit then you are going to be frustrated if you wish to record it.
    It will sound like a toy.

You can get a proper drum kit, some mice and an 8 channel interface for less than it costs to get a good v-kit.

If you can't justify that sort of expense then Toontrack Drumkit from Hell and their expansion packs are excellent.
  • Playing drums in using a controller is very over-rated, just program them in. As for sounds BFD is the bomb.
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • paulkpaulk Frets: 318
    I'm using Logic Pro 9. Am I being thick thinking that using such a drumpad rather than software drums would be easier instead of farting around editing loops and such?
  • I've always found drum programming much easier than playing them! Gotta think like a drummer though, in terms what you can hit at any time. Takes a bit of patience to build it up bar by bar - copy and paste blocks and then go in and add some variety.

Hasn't the new Garageband got a nifty drum instrument?
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10404

paulk said: