Cheap giggable bass amp

What's Hot
MrTMrT Frets: 21
It looks like I might be about to be dragged back into playing bass in a new project starting up. I sold my last bass amp a while back when I started playing more guitar again but any recommendations on a good cheap bass amp (combo or head) that would stand up to pub gigs? Small and light get bonus points but as I'm not sure how long this project will last I'd like to try and keep budget as low as possible. 

What's the lowest wattage I should be looking at?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Get one of the tc electronic combos secondhand.
  • John_PJohn_P Frets: 2756
    If you don't have a super loud drummer to keep up with then for light and small I'd agree with the tc combo's.   I rehearsed with a chap using a bc250 1x15 a few weeks ago and it was pretty good.   
    I've seen a few deal recently on Eden amps so they might be worth a look. 
    but if you want really cheap then at the cost of increasing weight then used old school peavey and trace would work - check all is fine and you can lift them first though. 
  • MrTMrT Frets: 21
    Cheers - I'll keep an eye out for the BC250 although from what I've seen the newer ones don't seem to have an external speaker out to hook it up to another cab if needed which does put me off a little.
  • John_PJohn_P Frets: 2756
    That put me off them as well but his was loud enough and if you can do to the PA as well then it would be fine unless the drummer is super loud.  
  • KKJaleKKJale Frets: 983
    I'd be looking at the Fender Rumbles, though you'd need to go to the 200 to get an ext. out.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72971
    Cheap as possible, loud and bombproof - old Peavey, combo or head and cab. Disadvantage - heavy, and mostly awkward to carry due to their shape and often not having side handles.