Obsessive Learning?

What's Hot
Your honest opinions please.

This is in no way a bragging outlet for me, I've been meaning to ask this for a while. In the 3 years since I started playing guitar again after a break, I have amassed a shed load of songs, solos from songs or both that I took upon myself to learn. 

I have tab written down in a big folder and also a dedicated Word File with a ton more stuff on. There must be 200(bottom line) songs that I have focused on and learned, sometimes just writing down the bits that are hardest to learn and the easiest to forget etc.

A lot of them I would have to recap, but could pick up again quickly if needed. I have to ask the question: Am I obsessive or is it normal in that, that is probably the main reason I play guitar? Because I am awed by what has been laid down by artists in the past, the sound and the mystique coupled with the pleasure of " Nailing Something" even if it is just getting the same tone as someone has on a record.

I'd say 50% of my playing time goes on learning other songs etc. I used to do this the first time round when I played guitar. Should I just accept that I like doing this and not think to myself "You should be doing something else".

I'm know I have my own playing style and technique, maybe I think there is a Stigma attached to being "Polly Parrot" on guitar, I don't know. I haven't a problem with it.

I do practice other things as well, it's just this hunger saying "I've got to learn that song, solo, guitar fill" etc.

Would be good to here someone else's perspective on this though.

Thanks.

Only a Fool Would Say That.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

Nuffink wrong with learning other peoples stuff.

The guitar is yours to play/learn as you like, and how it suits you best.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom