Flatwound string advice please

What's Hot
impmannimpmann Frets: 12641
I am not much of a bass player - but I have recently acquired a lovely old Shergold Marathon bass that I'm really enjoying playing. Thing is, the strings that are on it are knackered. This gives a lovely percussive yet woolly mellow sound on the low string but that isn't even with the G string, as that hasn't absorbed as much sweat/rust/cack. 

I'm thinking about fitting flatwounds to it in an attempt to preserve that woolly, thuddy sound but to even it up a bit. Plus, as I'm not the greatest bass player I'm thinking the flats wouldn't transmit so much finger noise.

I've measured whats on there with a micrometer and its got an odd set going from 105 (measuring 103... so there or there abouts) to 50 (measuring 49). So I reckon a standard 105-45 set would work without fiddling too much with the set up (insanely good intonation on this bass).

Whilst I kinda know what I'm doing with guitar strings, I'm not an expert on bass ones... so what would folks recommend? (Brands etc)

Many thanks 
Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24578
    Daddario Chromes - they do a 45-105 set.

Reasonably high tension, plenty of thump but some top end retained so they don't sound too "lifeless" - last for years and nice to play.

I use them a lot (in fact, every bass except one which has La Bella low tension flats on, cos they seem to suit it better)

Guve them a try - if you don't like them, unlike guitar strings you'll be able to flog them.
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14321
    British bass guitar. British strings. Rotosound. :)

If I remember correctly, the woods in Shergolds make for a bright unamplified sound. Roundwound strings will sound fairly wiry unless you roll back the tone control a bit.