Denmark Street Festival Photos

What's Hot
Full disclosure: I'm a terrible guitar player. Work for Reverb.com as their UK Marketing Director and prior to that was Head of Digital Marketing at Andertons for 6 years. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Looks awful 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Good job you didn't go then. :)
  • KiniooKinioo Frets: 19
    Well, last time I went to Denmark street hoping I get some good selection on second hand pedals, maybe trade something in etc.....massively disappointed !!

Literally only few shops left there, every second shop has been closed down (empty units) or converted into kebab or hair saloon ?!

(I understand that this is due to the costs - as its very hard to compete with on-line shops etc.).

C.
  • Guitar_SlingerGuitar_Slinger Frets: 1489
    edited December 2017
    Times have changed, unfortunately. When I started playing, young "_Slinger" (I didn't have a guitar then) would flick through ads in Guitarist, Total Guitar and maybe Guitar Techniques before realising they were owned by the same company, so I only needed to buy one magazine. But you'd have an idea how much stuff costs and would go up and down Denmark Street, to buy it at the best price you could.

Nowadays, you "fuckin' Google it" as the kids say. .

Even at guitar shows of yesteryear, people would see a sign saying "£20 show special" and throw their money at whoever was selling it, just in case they were missing out on a bargain.  These days, you can whip out your phone at the show and the internet tells you either not to panic, as you could go home and buy it for £19 including postage, or to leap on the show special as RRP is £30.