So many technique issues.. what's the answer?

What's Hot

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1079

Matt_McG said:
    I had one or two lessons with him some years back (5 or 6 years). I think my wife was pregnant at the time, and I just never found the time after. I enjoyed and got a lot out of the lesson(s), though, so I'd definitely go back. I wouldn't particularly mind the price, but I wouldn't be expecting to be having weekly lessons (which is not really how tutors like that work).

His ElectricCampfire site is very good, if you have the time to do the stuff.
    If you’re a total beginner or not been playing for lomg then weekly lessons are a must with me. Everyone that took fortnightly lessons or less has quit and I’m not surprised.

Obviously if you’ve played for a while and know most of the basics to intermediate/advanced level and just want to polish a particular area then maybe every other week may suffice.

I tend to find anything less than weekly just encourages them to practice less, however.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • andyozandyoz Frets: 718
    I resisted lessons for too long.  Took the plunge and found it's even the small things they can pick up 'watching' you play that can make a huge difference.

Mine got me using my pinky finger and it took a month or two but now I couldn't imagine not having that strength there.
    andyoz said:
    I resisted lessons for too long.  Took the plunge and found it's even the small things they can pick up 'watching' you play that can make a huge difference.

Mine got me using my pinky finger and it took a month or two but now I couldn't imagine not having that strength there.
    Many of the ones who come to me can already play, I don't know why, maybe I intimidate beginners too much. But I often spot bad habits and basic things they haven't learnt (like simple rhythm reading) which affects their development.
  • andyozandyoz Frets: 718