Help Me Learn to Play Piano - (Complete Beginner)

What's Hot
Have had my midi-keyboard a few months now & have it hooked up and working with my DAW of choice Reaper.

To start with I wanted to try and learn how to construct/play chords & alongside it try to improve my very limited music reading knowledge....which atm stops when the notes leave the Stave.

So with that said, are there any Books or YouTube links you would recommend that helped you to learn?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725
    Go and have lessons.

Piano is a different class of instrument for a beginner- just major scale fingerings are a major job because they are different for each key, where with guitar you just slide up and down the fretboard and play the same pattern.

And the fingering are (slightly) different for the left and right hand.
    6 months of lessons with a good teacher will give you a grounding with all of this and then, assuming you work at it, you can go off on your own.
  • duotoneduotone Frets: 971
    Cheers Octatonic, tbh it’s not something I’m willing to spend much money on atm, so I will forego lessons for now.  Although if there is no improvement or I’m struggling myself further down the line, then I might have to give in & sign up for lessons.
  • goldtopgoldtop Frets: 6101
    Ask yourself why you want to be able to play the piano:
    1. to play classical/jazz standards without error and well enough to be convincing
    2. to playalonga pop music
    3. to write music of your own
    4. to do sound design on synths
    Only #1 absolutely requires formal tuition and significant practice. Getting your pinky to play as loud a note as your index finger and properly independent R and L hands is bl**dy hard work.