Where to start - Videos/Books/Course

What's Hot
Hi all,

I've recently got back into guitar after 4 years without picking it up (I have a four year old daughter, which Is why I stopped).

I'm self taught, and first time around I never practised formally at all, I just picked songs I liked and learnt them using videos/tabs. After a lot of work I could just about do the lead Sultans of Swing (probably the limit of my skill).

This time around I'd really like to develop as a player and actually get better. I'd also like to learn to improvise so I could noodle away amusing myself (along the lines of the guys from That Pedal Show when they are playing random ideas). I'm not interested in shredding at 2876bpm, just classic rock stuff really.

I don't know where to start with music theory though, I'm vaguely aware of the caged system (but not from memory, I'd have to slowly work it out) and could work out the string notes but not quickly.

How did you all get to the level you are at? Any tips or recommendations of books or courses?

I'd really appreciate and all comments.

Thanks.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BarneyBarney Frets: 614
    I would start with minor pentatonic in all postitions ...finding ways to link them and really trying to work on phrasing 

I find a good way is to learn the pentatonics as they are then reply break them down....get a backing track and really work on ideas just on 2 strings say B and E..in one position ..really spend a while on it ...you can easily do a good solo on them 2 strings using just 4 notes...just stick with it ....the do same with G and B string ...ect ...then use 3 strings and do the same ECT...this will build good phrasing ...