Running the soundboard for the first time

What's Hot
DanielArDanielAr Frets: 0
edited July 2019 in Live
A friend asked me to fill in running the sound board for their band. I've never done anything like this before. I agreed to do it to help friends out.

I got a review of the setup and sat with the real sound guy at the last gig. I generally understand how they have everything connected. I know how the various controls work and interact and I've heard the band play multiple times at multiple venues. I'm concerned that they will sound like crap and I won't hear it or I won't know how to improve it. best guitar ringtones

The expectations for the fill-in (2 night) gig are low. The room is setup awkward and not great acoustically plus it will be filled with mostly drunk partiers. 

Even so, I want to do the best I can. I have probably one more gig where I can sit with the real sound guy and observe. He's a really nice guy and does a great job.
Any advice or tips?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• revsorgrevsorg Frets: 874
    Maybe ask if you can do a trial by fire at the next gig where the "real" sound guy takes a back seat and tells you where you're going wrong.

If you're anything like me you'll miss more cues than you hit when you're starting out.

Personally I find the whole thing fascinating and wish I'd got into it sooner.
  • robinbowesrobinbowes Frets: 3021
    The hardest thing to learn is how to listen objectively. Once you can do that the rest is relatively easy. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8590
    Moved to the Live section
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10356

Basically it depends on what board it is as to what you can do. Assuming it's analog then this a very basic guide to basic mixing

Layout the channels so it makes sense ... like 

Chan 1 Kick
    Chan 2 Snare