Mod for Vox AC15 (to enable attenuator to be used)

What's Hot
Hi all,

I’m trying to work out the best way to modify my vox ac15hw1x so I can use an attenuator.

The internal cable that connects the speaker to the amp is not terminated with a jack plug (I believe), it is hardwired instead. So I need to do a mod so that the attenuator can be connected to the internal speaker. 

I am not an expert with these things but here is my plan:

1. Purchse two new 1/4 inch mono jack inputs (similar to the type you get on a guitar) and fix them to the back wood cover of the amp.

2. Disconnect the cable (from the spade connectors on the speaker) and attach it to the spades of the first of the new jack inputs.

3. Create a new cable with 2 female spade connectors on both ends and attach one end to the speaker spades and the other end to the spades of the second of the new jack inputs.

Then for normal use of the amp without the attenuator i’d need to run a short patch cable between the new input jacks.

And when using the attenuator - i’d need to run a guitar cable from the speaker out socket on the attenuator to the second of the new jack inputs. 

Is my plan the best way to achieve what I’m trying to achieve? I can’t be the first to try to solve this problem.  Is there an easier way?

If the plan is sound can anyone tell me if there is a kit for it so I don’t need to buy all the individual bits and pieces?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LastMantraLastMantra Frets: 3822
    edited May 2019
    You want to use speaker cable not guitar cable. 2 core mains is good.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71963