Finished Pics! Dreadnought Acoustic Build - Black Limba

What's Hot
Andyjr1515Andyjr1515 Frets: 3127
edited September 2019 in Making & Modding
Hi

@Ttony inadvertently reminded me that I've been a bit tardy on posting one of my latest builds, that of another Dreadnought Acoustic.

It's a bit of a background job but is actually progressing quicker than I was expecting.  I won't turn it into one of my interminable sagas   But do feel free to shout if you want more info of any specific aspects of the build, especially if you are thinking of doing one yourselves - I have plenty of photos of the various stages.

I got a nice Black Limba back and sides set from Germany:

I'd got an old bass neck blank leftover from another build (changed the concept during the build and made a second neck), which I was able to build the heel up from with some offcuts and some blocks of walnut:

...and bought a nice AAAAA European spruce top set from David Dyke

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Andyjr1515Andyjr1515 Frets: 3127
    I thinned down the limba to around 1.9mm and got the bending pipe out and the former I'd used in the two previous builds.

It bent pretty well!  First time ever no splits on the sides!  This is the sides bent and the kerfing strips being installed, set proud of the side edges to allow for sanding to the 15 and 25 foot spherical radii of the back and top:

I jointed the slimmed-down bookmatched back panels and glued those too:

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    So now it was time to get out the home-made Go-bar rig and the 15 foot radius dish for the back.

The maple braces are radiused on the bottoms, using the dish as a spherical sanding block and then, using a combination of dowel and fibreglass rods, the back is forced into the dish and the shape set by the braces and middle-joint reinforcing strip:

0reaction image LOL 7reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom