Buying a PC

What's Hot
My 7 Yr(?) old Laptop is slowing down. I'll give it to the kids as the Internet works fine and they could do homework on it.

I don't have much budget at all. I was thinking £250.
I really just need it for Internet, some photoshop, playing music and movies.

The laptop has Core i5, 4Gb Ram, I think. It was always plugged into a separate monitor, which I'll use for PC. 

I'm happy to buy refurbished.
I'm not really tech savvy but happy to hear advice, or recommendations. 
Thanks. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Electro_HamElectro_Ham Frets: 102
    And it's a desktop I want. 
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11413
    edited July 2019

New desktop at that price is hard to find.

Given the difference it makes to speed, I would want an SSD on any new machine I was buying, and I'd want 8GB of RAM, especially as a budget machine won't have a dedicated graphics card so will use system Ram, so 4GB wouldn't be enough.

The cheapest new desktop on Ebuyer.com that comes complete with Windows is £299.  The cheapest one with 8GB of RAM and an SSD is £340, and the SSD on that is only 120GB, so you would need to add another hard drive for storage. You are looking at around £380 for even a basic desktop new.

Given your budget, refurbished would make sense.  I would want an SSD in it though.  It makes such a difference to performance - even if it's just a small SSD for the OS, and a separate conventional hard drive for storage.  I would never want to go back to a machine with the OS on a conventional HDD.

You can find refurbished machines that have been fitted with an SSD:

https://www.ebuyer.com/858364-refurbished-hp-8200-sff-desktop-pc-cb-pc-hp-8200-sff-i5-8-256-w10pro