Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Removing tone pots: likely "tonal" effects?

What's Hot
JetfireJetfire Frets: 1687
As I'm a ham fisted guitarist, the volume pot on my blacktop strat is kinda in the way, so I'm thinking of having a Jim Root style scratch plate for my HH set up and a single volume knob moved right out of the way. I am assuming I'll need to remove the tone pots too, but what could this do to the tone? 

If I do ahead with this, I prob will make a recording to look back on..
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71956
    It will be like turning the tone up to 11. A tiny increase in brightness that you may or may not notice, depending on your cables, effects and amp.

If it is a problem you can always have a simple resistor and cap added inside to duplicate the tone control on 10.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand." - Homer Simpson

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14321
    edited August 2019
    The loading effect of the tone control on the pickup is lost. As ICBM states, this will pass additional treble frequencies - possibly, more than you bargained for.

The old PRS Upgrade Kit included parts to simulate the tonal loss effect of loading. 

1) 470k resistor between the hot and ground terminals of the output jack socket.

2) 500k resistor and .022uF capacitor, in series, between the input terminal of the master volume pot and ground.
    Be seeing you.
  • jellybellyjellybelly Frets: 734