Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Things you are really good at by accident? or learned without realising

What's Hot
a friend of mine said my palm muting is great.

But generally it's not something I particually tried to set out to learn. It just happened as I was a shy guitarist or trying to keep the noise down and it just came naturally. 

if anything I actually do it too much. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• thecolourboxthecolourbox Frets: 9654
    edited October 2019
    When I play in front of anybody, people normally remark that I have a particularly light touch and that it's not a bad thing. However for much the same reason, it's because I'm a bit apologetic when I play or sing but it just comes across as though I'm trying to have a subtle gentle touch.

Though I am mainly a piano player for which a soft touch is very desirable, in a world of pianists who think plinky plonk is the way to play! So maybe it comes from that
    Please note my communication is not very good, so please be patient with me
    soundcloud.com/thecolourbox-1
    youtube.com/@TheColourboxMusic
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28280
    I came out of the womb, grabbed a guitar and was alt picking like a dream from day 1.

Conversely, 56 years on and I still can't sweep pick just one simple arp to save my life.
  • FuengiFuengi Frets: 2849
    When I play in front of anybody, people normally remark that I have a particularly light touch and that it's not a bad thing. However for much the same reason, it's because I'm a bit apologetic when I play or sing but it just comes across as though I'm trying to have a subtle gentle touch.