Which affordable but solid 4 string?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• DiscoStuDiscoStu Frets: 5382
    edited December 2019
    I might be depping for a band on bass soon (gigs are already booked) so reading this with interest. I have a Samick Fairlane at home but fancy something a bit meatier. I was looking at the Sub Ray 4 earlier, I think it looks/sounds great for the money but being a guitarist I don't know much about budget bass options.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14324
    DiscoStu said:
    I was looking at the Sub Ray 4 
    The Indonesian-made S.U.B. Ray4 was one of those no-brainer choices, playable straight out of the box. (Like the original spec Squier VM Jazz Bass from the same factory.) In the longer term, some of its parts might benefit from upgrading but not immediately.

Regrettably, in an attempt to keep the price down, the S.U.B. Ray4 is now made in China. The ones I have seen and handled are inferior to the Indonesian ones.

Buy used.

DiscoStu said:
    Samick Fairlane
    Which exact variant? You might be able to get what you need by upgrading its pickup(s), controls and bridge. The overall build quality will be roughly equivalent to the old S.U.B.

Be seeing you.
  • DiscoStu said:
    I might be depping for a band on bass soon (gigs are already booked) so reading this with interest. I have a Samick Fairlane at home but fancy something a bit meatier. I was looking at the Sub Ray 4 earlier, I think it looks/sounds great for the money but being a guitarist I don't know much about budget bass options.
    What's your budget? I might be looking to move on my Ibanez SR500 4-string as I'm perilously close to pulling the trigger on a 5-string version. Would be willing to sell for £300. 

https://www.pmtonline.co.uk/ibanez-sr500-soundgear-4-string-bass-brown-mahogany
    edited December 2019
    DiscoStu said:
    I was looking at the Sub Ray 4