Sub-£1k bass for recording - for a guitar player (i.e. smaller neck/scale)

What's Hot
Hello all,

I'm a guitarist but want to record bass.  Any recommendations on a neater bass for a guitar player?  I play guitars on the fatter side (PRS wide fat, etc.), well, certainly not super slim.

Thoughts welcome.  Much cheaper also works - and secondhand, if you're in/near/can post to Cumbria.

Thanks!
Trading feedback info here

My band, Red For Dissent
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14320
    There are quite a few worthy candidates in the Basses £ section of this very forum. (DISCLAIMER: A few of them might be mine.)

Do you desire a bass guitar with a distinctive/recognisable character - Precision, Jazz, Stingray, Höfner, RIC 400n - or something that can blend in with whatever music you are making on the day?

Be seeing you.
  • There are quite a few worthy candidates in the Basses £ section of this very forum. (DISCLAIMER: A few of them might be mine.)

Do you desire a bass guitar with a distinctive/recognisable character - Precision, Jazz, Stingray, Höfner, RIC 400n - or something that can blend in with whatever music you are making on the day?

@Funkfingers I think something versatile. I love playing thrash but also acoustic and light stuff. 

My band, Red For Dissent
  • I have this for sale over in Tyne and Wear, so not too far from Cumbria... 

https://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/169123/fs-ibanez-sr500-325-ono#latest

It's not short scale, but has a nice slim neck, super easy to play. I transferred straight from guitar to this as a newbie no bother. Very versatile bass, currently has chrome flats on it but could easily handle the heavier stuff if you stuck some roundwounds onto it. Let me know if interested.  :)
  • I have this for sale over in Tyne and Wear, so not too far from Cumbria... 

https://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/169123/fs-ibanez-sr500-325-ono#latest