Resonator Banjo Recommendations

What's Hot
Hi guys and girls.
I'm looking to buy my brother a Resonator Banjo for Christmas - He will be a complete beginner but is a very accomplished guitar player, he was playing around on some at a local shop on the weekend and he was already cracking out tunes with ease.
Budget is 200-300 and would be looking for a resonator style for country/bluegrass playing.
Should I go second hand or try my luck with a budget option? I live reasonably close to Eagle music near Huddersfield who I think have a fairly extensive range, I just have no idea what I'm looking for!

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14323
    Budget is 200-300 ... I live reasonably close to Eagle Music near Huddersfield who I think have a fairly extensive range, I just have no idea what I'm looking for!
    Does the shop offer gift tokens? It might be wiser to buy your brother a token and leave him to decide how high to take the outlay to get something he will not quickly outgrow.
    Be seeing you.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Andy’s banjos based near Faversham was selling Grafton banjos some years ago. They were fairly plain to look at but sounded leagues above similar priced ones with blingy appointments.
    i think this is similar to what I bought approx 10 years ago so price has gone up. 
    https://www.andybanjo.com/cgi-bin/trolleyed_public.cgi?action=showprod_RBGRAFTONGEM

The Swamp City Shakers
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3627
    I'm looking to buy my brother a Resonator Banjo for Christmas

My god, you must really hate your brother (and his family and neighbours) =)
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • droflufdrofluf Frets: 3616
    edited December 2019