Help with teaching.

What's Hot
JAYJOJAYJO Frets: 1526
Ive just ordered my son a  Yamaha Pacifica 120h and plan to give him his first lesson when it gets here. (wed 05/02.) 
I have not had any lessons so i would like to give him a better start than i had with advice from here. I will look into getting him lessons from a teacher maybe in the future but for now i/we  are all hes got.lol.
Any advice on first things first much appreciated. He is nearly 10 by the way and addicted to playstation and WWE so he needs saving.
 Many thanks for any help  John.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sev112sev112 Frets: 2739
    Look at Yousician
    it’s tv / web / console based so it may be a more enjoyable learning experience than an old guy telling him how to learn.
    And he can go at his own pace.

things that I’ve found useful when showing a complete newbie a couple of things only :
    1, get them to play a simple tune on one string, to get used to picking strings and fretting notes at the same time.  That way they get some music pretty quick.  happy Birthday or some Metallica riff ;)
    2.  Don’t show them chords - but show them why guitarists play chords - which I do by opening the piano app on ipad, play C E G as a chord, then play then C Eb G.  Then I show them where those 3 notes are on a guitar.  And then say that’s a Major 3rd and a Minor 3rd on top, or a Minor 3rd and a Major 3rd on top  And all chords are pretty much the same.  So if you know a Note somewhere on the fretboard, and you know how to find the 3rd up from that, and the 3rd up from that you have every major or minor chord you need !  and NO MORE THAN THAT !  And certainly no 6 string chord fingerings !,

the real teachers will be along in a minute

• Stick with single note melody stuff, basic tunes nursery rhymes etc. If you have to do chords keep it 2 fingers or strings next to each other at most.