P. A system recommendations

What's Hot
Below is my bands requirements. We're a 5 piece band (2x guitarists) playing hard rock
3 vocals and kick drum mic going through the p.a, we only play small/medium venues.
Needs to connect 2/3 fold back monitors to desk/system.
I've played live for over a decade and have done live engineering so I'm no beginner, but I'm the bassist, so simpler the better. 
Max £500, it's quite tight budget but I'm hoping a can get pieces separately or used. At a push on finance.
Our old bassist had the p.a, hence why we need a new one!
Thanks in advance
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• p90foolp90fool Frets: 31368
    That is a tiny budget tbh. I'd be looking at something separate to run the kick drum through, like an old 15" powered cab, just to leave yourselves some vocal headroom. 

You'll need a much bigger PA than your budget will allow if your vocals and kick drum are sharing cabs. 
  • To be fair I've seen pa systems on ebay for less and yamaha stage pass 400 and 600 under £500.
    The kick doesn't have to be mic'd just preferred 
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3627
    Your max budget would almost stretch to a pair of Alto TS312s

But that doesn't include a desk nor a sub (if you need to mic the kick).

Whilst this may be considered heresy on a guitar forum – the most important thing in the band are the vocals.  How much does your guitar rig cost?  Wouldn’t it seem reasonable to be spending a similar amount on the PA and, if there’s more than just one vocal going through it, considerable more.

I gig pubs and small venues with a pair of Yamaha DXR12’s and a XR18 digital desk, total cost <£1500 (actually less than some of the guitars that I gig).

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • What bits do you already have? ie. What does the £500 have to cover?
  • I can probably find some stuff used on here, ebay and gumtree.