Introducing Guitar Dashboard. A free, open source, interactive music theory explorer for guitarists.

What's Hot
MikeHMikeH Frets: 11

I'd like to share something I've been working on: guitardashboard.com. It's something I've built initially to aid my own study of diatonic modes and chords on the guitar, but I'm also hoping that others might find it useful. Some features:

• A chromatic circle and a circle of fifths for visualising scales and modes.
  • A guitar fretboard that displays scales and modes. You can opt to display note names or scale intervals, just select the 'settings' menu.
  • Toggle notes on the circle-of-fifths and fretboard.
  • Alternative tunings and instruments. Any stringed instrument with any tuning is potentially supported. Just select the 'tunings' menu.
  • Left handed players are welcome. Also in the 'settings' menu.

I'm self taught when it comes to music theory, so I'd really like to hear any comments, bugs, suggestions. It's open source on GitHub with an MIT licence, so feel free to take the code and use it for your own purposes. Send me a pull-request if you're of the programmerish persuasion. Links under the 'info' menu.

Enjoy! Mike

0reaction image LOL 4reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MikeHMikeH Frets: 11
    Woops, I seem to have posted several copies of this by mistake. Is there anyway to delete posts?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • vizviz Frets: 10647
    Very nice!
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8591
    MikeH said:
    Woops, I seem to have posted several copies of this by mistake. Is there anyway to delete posts?
    Done
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.