Simon & Patrick SP6 Cedar - advice

What's Hot
I bought one of these about 30 years ago when I was a student.  I haven’t played it for many years, preferring my electric guitars.  Been thinking I want a half decent acoustic around the house, so wondering if the S&P fits the bill.  I can’t say I love it but with some new strings, and lowering the action, could it be an ok guitar?  Is it a good guitar I wonder?  Not even sure what gauge strings to put on it. I’ve got GAS for an acoustic but for once I’m trying to make myself do the right thing and make do with what I’ve got! I realise I haven’t really asked a specific question here!  But if anyone has any opinions or advice?  Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12255
    They sound quite decent I had one for years. Not Terribly well built allegedly but fine. I sold mine and bought an all solid guitar which is certainly on another level but you are looking £400 plus used against a guitar you already own. 

• NiteflyNitefly Frets: 4902
    At 30 years old it will likely have been built at the Godin factory in La Patrie, Canada, alongside Seagull, Art & Lutherie, and Godin guitars.  Simon and Patrick are Robert Godin's sons.

Perfectly adequate workmanlike instruments, usually with solid tops - some spruce, some cedar - and cherrywood back and sides as far as I recall.

How light are your strings on your electric guitars?  If you're used to 9's, I'd try a 10 - 48 set on the S&P, just to get used to playing it again; then maybe later go up to 11's or 12's.

It's like a 30-years-on NGD!

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Revolting1Revolting1 Frets: 295
    I love them!

I normally use 12 - 52 or 12 - 53
    80 /20 Martins sound well with the Cedar tops.

I've  had a few though my hands  they usually dont need any fret work for a low set up-factory neck build's been good.