Using notes outside of the Key

What's Hot
Hi all, after a bit of help please. I been trying to learn a bit of theory lately, I'm fairly new to all this.

The subject of the confusion is 'Clash City Rockers' by The Clash

The main chord progression is E D A G B A B E   (with a C# thrown into the chorus)
Now the tonal centre seems to be E and info I can find online back this up as being in the key of E.

There is no D or G in the key of E, there is however, D# and G#
I have read that notes can be borrowed from 'related' keys, which I believe to be the IV and V note keys (A and B).
Key of A can account for the D but I still can't work out the G.
Relative Minor key doesn't help either!

I may be overthinking this and should just accept that it sounds great! Is also possible I've gone note blind and the G is there somewhere and I'm just not seeing it :-)

Apologies if this is a stupid question.

Cheers,
Steve

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• P.S not sure why my "B)" turned into what looks like a mutant ninja turtle head or a rock with glasses. Hope it doesn't happen again when I post this - I will just look daft.
  • vizviz Frets: 10644
    edited July 2020
    It always defaults to sunglasses bloke, just like “:)” always defaults to smiley-face. They’re plectra.   B

Anyway the answer to your question is that The Clash is blues-based punk rock not Baroque or Renaissance music, so your sequence is not “diatonic”. It deploys a bVII chord and a bIII chord. 

Very often this style of music has MAJOR CHORDS over the MINOR PENTATONIC SCALE.

E minor penta scale has E G A B D E. 

so in rock you often get the following chords:

E mjor
    G major
    A major
    B major
    D major. 

They are indeed borrowed from modes outsidd Ionian, but it’s probably easier just to say “it’s rock”. 
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.