Wiring help

What's Hot
spev11spev11 Frets: 323
Ive got a passive Toby Bass, the blend knob isn't working so I'm gonna replace it with a gibson style 3 way selector switch. Before I whip it out has anybody done similar? Any pitfalls I should be aware of?(other than the all in nature of not having the blend, i tend to only use one pickup or the other anyway as I'm a shite bassist).
If anyone has done it or can point me towards a diagram I'd be most grateful (all the diagrams I can find are of p basses but i've got extra knobs and I dont want to bugger it up)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14409
    edited October 2020
    Photographs of the stock wiring of your bass would make a good staring point for answering this question.

Pitfalls?
    1. The hole for the Balance pot shaft may need enlarging to accept a selector switch. 
    2. A straight Switchcraft sprung leaf selector switch may be too tall to fit into the control cavity.
    3. Getting all of the ground connections securely soldered to the switch chassis could be a PITA.
    4. If your pickups have more than two output conductor cables each, you could be missing out on some interesting coil permutations via a fancier selector switch.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • spev11spev11 Frets: 323
    I'll get a pic later but from memory the pickups are both 2 wire only so no tapping options etc, good call on the switch height.Im off to collect the bass now from work so will remove the cover and take some measurements. If all else fails I'll just order another blend pot and keep it as is.
    ta though
  • spev11spev11 Frets: 323
    Right, the switch will be a bit tight so I'll just order up a new 250k blend pot, if of course I can find one in stock somewhere. 
    Simplest option is always best.
    Ta
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72228