Consensus Who album?

What's Hot
CrankyCranky Frets: 2629
I'm kinda new to The Who, particularly when it comes to listening to full albums.  Is there a consensus "best Who album" among us?  Beside whatever Rolling Stone says?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26746
    Who’s Next
    Tommy
    Quadrophenia
    Live at Leeds 

Depending on who you ask it’s usually one of those 4.

Personally I like Who’s Next and Live at Leeds, but I’ve never quite got into a single album as any of these ones miss a bit chunk of stuff from somewhere else - you can do a lot worse than any of their recent Best Of complications. 
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • CrankyCranky Frets: 2629
    edited October 2020
    ^ Cool.  I have 3/4 of those mentioned, so that's a good sign.  I love all of them, I love the band's energy.  They always remind me, when I'm feeling down or bored by my own playing, to just stfu and put some life into it!

Tommy's the one I've been coming back to lately, which is weird for me as I'm not normally a "themed album" guy, but it has some great tunes on it.  The acoustic playing on the back end of Overture is awesome.
  • RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 13929
    My faves are:
    • Who's Next
    • My Generation
    • Live At Leeds
    • 30 Years of Maximum RnB box set

• scrumhalfscrumhalf Frets: 11262
    I prefer Live At Hull to Live At Leeds, it's a seriously good album. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ronnybronnyb Frets: 1742
    The soundtrack to ‘McVicar’ is worth a listen too. I think it’s a Who album in all but name.
  • WhitecatWhitecat Frets: 5378
    'Who's Next' is the masterpiece IMO.