Classical position for normal acoustic

What's Hot
Hi

Anyone please like this? I started playing classical years ago and gave up but after coming back to finger style my teacher pushes me to play this way. 

It is easier on my left and right hands and I play better but I’m suffering a bit of back pain. 

I usually just play on my own but when I’m with mates who play they take the piss. I was thinking of fitting a strap button but i don’t want to damage my guitar. 

Any thoughts?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3611
    I also tried it but, whilst it was easier on my hands, it alo hurt my back. I imagine if you're playing anything larger than a 000 it would be like giving birth.

And the position looks very silly with a Telecaster. Apparently. :) 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Feels un-natural to me as I have to turn my right shoulder inwards to balance the guitar. I don't really use the higher frets either on an acoustic so playing the first 5 frets with the guitar raised would make it harder as its further away.
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11788
    I use a Dynarette cushion for classical and acoustic, to get the neck angle right without using a footstool or doing my back in 
    Dynarette Guitar Support Cushion (vamu.se)

I use it a slightly different way for large acoustics, usually with legs not crossed, then I might cross my legs too for more classical-type left hand work

I also use a sheet of this stuff to stop it slipping about

• I use a Dynarette cushion for classical and acoustic, to get the neck angle right without using a footstool or doing my back in 
    Dynarette Guitar Support Cushion (vamu.se)

I use it a slightly different way for large acoustics, usually with legs not crossed, then I might cross my legs too for more classical-type left hand work

I also use a sheet of this stuff to stop it slipping about