Are there certain strings which are easier on the fingertips.

What's Hot
I know I should probably play til my fingers bleed, if I was a proper guitarist.

But I am finding I quickly get sore fingertips from the strings on my Gibson acoustic. I am not exactly new to the guitar either - so am a bit concerned this maybe a chronic condition.

Can anyone advise if there are special comfortable 'nice' strings for sensitive flowers?

Thanks in advance.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3614
    What gauge strings are you using?

Newtones are lower tension so “easier” to play. But a good setup could also help. 
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8590
    Some people are allergic to nickel, but that’s normally used for electric guitar strings rather than acoustic. You would probably know already if this was the problem. 

Your problem is more likely to be caused by pressing too hard. Acoustic guitar strings are normally thicker than electric strings, and the guitar’s action is far higher. This means that it takes more pressure to hold the string against the fret. It’s easy to overdo the finger pressure. The solution is to work out how little pressure you can get away with and still get a clean note. 
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • earwighoneyearwighoney Frets: 3489
    Roland said:
    Some people are allergic to nickel, but that’s normally used for electric guitar strings rather than acoustic. You would probably know already if this was the problem.